Damian Lillard signs on to coach Weber State team in The Basketball Tournament

Wednesday , May 10, 2017 - 6:02 PM

BRETT HEIN, Standard-Examiner Staff

Two-time NBA All-Star and Weber State great Damian Lillard is on board to coach The Wasatch Front, a WSU alumni team seeking entry into this summer’s The Basketball Tournament (TBT).

Lillard was added to the team’s official page Wednesday and a tournament representative confirmed Lillard’s role as coach via email.

His addition was the fruition of efforts from team organizer and former Big Sky MVP Kellen McCoy, who told the Standard-Examiner in April that Lillard planned to participate.

VOTE: Cast a vote for The Wasatch Front

TBT enters its fourth year this summer, each year growing in notoriety. Its original prize stash of $500,000 has grown to $2 million, and the final four rounds of the 2017 version will be televised on ESPN.

The tournament is comprised of 64 teams with players who are overseas professionals, former NBA and college players, or NBA players not currently under contract.

Votes from fans help teams qualify for the tournament. Though Lillard is on board, The Wasatch Front is not yet guaranteed a spot in the field.

As of Wednesday, the group of WSU alumni was 13th in West Region voting. Only the top nine teams in the region are guaranteed a spot in the field, tournament representative Jake Pavorsky said in an email.

RELATEDWeber State alumni team seeking votes, entry into The Basketball Tournament

Since April, The Wasatch Front added former Wildcat sharpshooter Scott Bamforth to its roster, which now sits at nine players — eight of whom played at Weber State.

The team’s roster is Scott Bamforth, Davion Berry, Daviin Davis, Kellen McCoy, Steve Panos, David Patten, Kyle Tresnak and Brody Van Brocklin. Additionally, guard Lamar Morinia of Montana State-Western was added to the roster.

Lillard and Mario Caetano are listed as coaches. Caetano was an assistant coach at Northern New Mexico College for five seasons.

If The Wasatch Front earns enough votes to qualify for the tournament, it will begin play July 15-16 in Las Vegas.

The top 100 fans for the team that wins TBT split part of the $2 million winnings and stand to win at least $1,000 each. Top fans are decided by how many votes each fan solicits from others.

Voting ends June 1. To vote, visit the team’s page.

Contact Brett Hein at bhein@standard.net, follow him on Twitter @bhein3 and find him at facebook.com/brettheinwrites.

Sign up for e-mail news updates.

Get the Standard-Examiner Advantage.