WSU student wins Utah Democratic Party post

Monday , June 15, 2015 - 8:19 AM

By Caleb Larkin
Standard-Examiner correspondent

PARK CITY — The Utah Democratic Party held its annual convention this weekend, with party officers chosen Saturday at Park City High School.

The party also achieved a Qualified Political Party status as a result of Senate Bill 54, sponsored by Sen. Aaron Osmond, R-South Jordan.

Candidates included Peter Corroon for party chair, Breanne Miller and Emily Hollingshead for vice chair, Ernie Gamonal and Marcus Stevenson for secretary, and Zach Robison and Celina Milner for treasurer.

Stevenson, 20, who won the party secretary contest, is a Weber State University political science student. He has been active with the Weber State Democrats and has served a year as the chair of the state Young Democrats. 

The party also hosted the Taylor and Mayne Dinner Friday at the Tracy Aviary in Salt Lake City. The dinner honored two individuals: Dorothy Engelman, the former chair and legislative candidate in Washington County, and Mike McDonald, the chairman for the Intermountain Iron Workers Trust Fund. Engelman received the Ed Mayne Award. McDonald received the Todd Taylor Award.

Utah’s state Republicans outnumbered Democrats in the 2015 legislative session 87 to 17. Currently there are no Democratic representatives from Davis, Weber, Box Elder or Morgan counties. The vast majority of Democratic officials represent the Salt Lake area.

Notable attendees at the convention this weekend included: Corroon; Lauren Littlefield, the party’s executive director; Doug Owens, a former congressional candidate; Sen. Jim Dabakis, D-Salt Lake City; and Sen. Karen Mayne, D-West Valley City.

Sign up for e-mail news updates.