Fallon to lead honors as Leno wins top humor prize

Wednesday , August 27, 2014 - 10:57 AM

Humor Prize Jay Leno

FILE - This Jan. 13, 2013 file photo shows Jay Leno, left, and Jimmy Fallon backstage at the 70th...


Associated Press

WASHINGTON (AP) — Jimmy Fallon will lead top comedians in saluting his “Tonight Show” predecessor Jay Leno with the nation’s top humor prize in October at the Kennedy Center in Washington.

The performing arts center announced Wednesday that Fallon will join Chelsea Handler, Jerry Seinfeld, Wanda Sykes, Betty White, Kevin Eubanks and others in honoring Leno with the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor.

Leno will receive the prize during a performance by his fellow comedians on Oct. 19 in Washington. The show will be broadcast nationally Nov. 23 on PBS stations.

The prize recognizes people who have had an impact on American society through their humor and social commentary in the tradition of Samuel Clemens, the writer and satirist better known as Twain. Past recipients include Carol Burnett, Ellen DeGeneres and Bill Cosby.

Get the Standard-Examiner Advantage.

Popular Stories for Movies & TV

Logan Film Festival to screen 44 indie films

Independent film lovers will have much to choose from Sept. 25 through 27 at the Logan Film Festival. The festival, now in its third year, boasts 44 films....