10 Weber State softball players recognized in Big Sky All-Conference awards

Wednesday , May 10, 2017 - 4:39 PM

BRANDON GARSIDE, Standard-Examiner Staff

With the 2017 regular season title under their belts, 10 of Weber State softball’s players were recognized Wednesday as the Big Sky Conference announced its all-conference teams.

Junior pitcher Kirtlyn Bohling, senior first baseman Sara Hingsberger and freshman right fielder Takesha Saltern were all named to the first team.

Saltern, whose batting average of .461 ranks fourth in nation and 76 total hits ranks eighth, also earned the Big Sky’s Freshman of the Year award.

RELATEDWeber State softball primed to host Big Sky tournament

It’s the second straight year for Bohling and Hingsberger to be named to the first team.

Hingsberger holds the school record for RBIs, and is batting .344 with 52 hits and 46 RBIs on the season.

Bolhing has 126 strikeouts this season and recently became Weber State’s all-time strikeout leader.

Freshman center fielder Landi Hawker, junior catcher Molly Horne and senior utility player Riana Splinter were named to the second team.

Junior second baseman McKinley Brinkerhoff, junior left fielder Rae Gall, sophomore pitcher Tatiana Su’esu’e and freshman shortstop Sydney White were honorable mentions.

Contact sports reporter Brandon Garside at bgarside@standard.net, on Twitter @BrandonGarside and on Facebook.com/BrandonGarsideSE.

Sign up for e-mail news updates.

Get the Standard-Examiner Advantage.