Blaze QB Tommy Grady wins AFl MVP

Tuesday , March 18, 2014 - 2:43 PM

Staff And Wire Services

SALT LAKE CITY — An extraordinary season by Utah Blaze QB Tommy Grady culminated in the Arena Football League’s most prestigious individual honor, as the AFL announced that Grady has been named the 2012 National Guard Most Valuable Player of the Year.

Grady also took home Russell Athletic Offensive Player of the Year.

“I’m honored to receive the MVP award on behalf of our team,” said Grady. “I’ve had the benefit of being surrounded with an amazing group of teammates and coaches. This award signifies everything that we have been able to accomplish together this season.”

In 2012, Grady (6-7, 245, Utah) produced the most prolific individual season of any quarterback in AFL history. Including playoffs, he threw for an unprecedented 6,637 yards and 157 touchdowns. Grady set regular season League records for passing touchdowns (142), total touchdowns (149), passing yards (5,870), pass completions (507) and pass attempts (743).

Grady tied an AFL single-game record by throwing 12 touchdowns passes against the Cleveland Gladiators during Utah’s regular season home finale. In the National Conference Championship, he set all-time playoff marks for touchdowns (10) and attempts (63). Grady also posted 2012 AFL season-highs with 436 passing yards and 439 total yards against the Kansas City Command.

With Grady at the helm, Utah was able to generate the AFL’s best passing attack by averaging an eye-opening 319.9 aerial yards per game. The Blaze also set numerous regular season team records. Grady was a first-team All-Arena selection.

Utah’s coaching staff came away with two postseason honors as well. Blaze head coach Ron James was named NET10 Head Coach of the Year, while offensive coordinator Matt Sauk earned NET10 assistant coach of the year honors.

Also, Blaze defensive back David Hyland has been named the National Guard Community MVP of the Year.

Late Friday in New Orleans, Maurice Purify caught a record seven touchdown passes and the Arizona Rattlers won the Arena Bowl with a 72-54 win over the Philadelphia Soul.

Sign up for e-mail news updates.