Defensive driving classes planned
Thursday , August 30, 2012 - 1:53 PM
OGDEN -- The Utah Safety Council will have defensive driving courses in Room 321 of the Shepherd Union Building at Weber State University, 3848 Harrison Blvd., Ogden.
The course will be from 8 a.m. to noon, on Saturday, Sept. 8, and from 6 p.m. to 10 p.m., Tuesday, Sept. 18.
The four-hour course consists of classroom instruction and focuses on collision prevention, driving confidence, awareness of hazards and improving driving skills.
Drivers may complete the course for a 50-point reduction from their Utah driving record, once every three years.
Individuals 55 years of age and older, may qualify for insurance discounts after completing the course.
This course also satisfies requirements for emergency vehicle violations, also known as the Slow Down, Move Over law.
Registration is $40 a person or $10 for those age 55 and over that are only seeking a reduction in their insurance rate.
For additional information or to register, please contact the Utah Safety Council at 800-933-5943 or visit www.utahsafetycouncil.org.STORY:201208300023Defensive driving classes planned/Local/2012/08/30/Defensive-driving-classes-planned.html-1