Members selected for Active Transportation Subcommittee

Sep 30 2012 - 9:51pm


CLEARFIELD -- A state group dedicated to alternative modes of transportation is starting to take shape.

Committee members have been selected for the Wasatch Front Regional Council's recently created Active Transportation Subcommittee.

WFRC spokesman Sam Klemm said the new group, which is a subcommittee under the WFRC's Regional Growth Committee, will focus on needs and policy recommendations for pedestrian and bicycle facilities and other alternative transportation across the Wasatch Front.

The committee is made up of elected officials -- with support from staff -- from Weber, Davis, Salt Lake, Morgan and Tooele counties, the Mountainland Association of Governments, Utah County, the Utah Department of Transportation, Utah Transit Authority, Ogden, Fruit Heights, Salt Lake City, and staff from the WFRC.

The group will be chaired by Davis County Commissioner Louenda Downs.

Other Top of Utah representatives on the committee include Weber County Commissioner Jan Zogmaister, Morgan County Councilwoman Tina Kelley, Ogden Mayor Mike Caldwell and Fruit Heights Mayor Todd Stevenson.

Klemm said the committee members' policy recommendations will be made to the regional council as it considers updates to the transportation system.

At Wednesday's WFRC meeting in Clearfield, Davis County Planner Scott Hess, who will serve as support to Downs on the committee, said the group has been coming together to begin brainstorming ideas.

"We're excited to get to work," he said. "Hopefully we'll begin to see some meaningful changes happen."

From Around the Web