OGDEN -- Defensive driving courses are now being offered by the Utah Safety Council.
The four-hour classes will be from 6 p.m. to 10 p.m. Dec. 11 in Room 321 of the Shepherd Union Building at Weber State University, and from 8 a.m to noon Dec. 15 in Room 316.
The four-hour course consists of classroom instruction and focuses on collision prevention, driving confidence, awareness of hazards and improving driving skills.
Drivers may complete the course for a 50-point reduction from their Utah driving record, once every three years. Individuals age 55 and older may qualify for insurance discounts after completing the course. This course also satisfies requirements for emergency vehicle violations, also known as the Slow Down, Move Over law.
Registration is $40 per person, or $10 for those 55 and older who are only seeking a reduction in their insurance rate. For more information or to register, call the Utah Safety Council at 800-933-5943 or visit www.utahsafetycouncil.org.