Noteworthy: Roy author wins Spur award

Thursday , March 06, 2014 - 11:28 AM


Roy author Michael Zimmer is one of three Utah authors who have been named winners in the Western Writers of America’s prestigious 2013 Spur Awards.

Zimmer won a Finalist Award in the Short Novel category for “City of Rocks.” “City of Rocks” was also listed as a 2012 Top Ten Western by Booklist Magazine. The story follows 17-year-old Joseph Roper across northern Utah and southern Idaho to apprehend members of a gang who seriously wounded his friend and mentor in a raid on the town of Coalville, Idaho.

Zimmer is the author of 11 Western and historical novels, including “Fandango,” “Beneath a Hunter’s Moon,” and the recently released “Rio Tinto.”

Other Utah winners are Will Bagley, who won a Spur in the Best Western Nonfiction Historical category for “With Golden Visions Bright Before Them: Trails to the Mining West, 1849-1852,” and Rachelle “Rocky” Gibbons, who won a Finalist in the Storyteller Award for her children’s book “Big Buckaroo and Moose, The Cowdog.”

The Western Writers of America was founded in 1953 to promote the literature of the American West and to present an annual Spur Award for distinguished writing in the Western field. Past recipients include Elmer Kelton, Larry McMurtry, Joel & Ethan Coen, Sandra Day O’Connor, Craig Johnson, Tony Hillerman, Ken Burns, Stephen Ambrose, Lawrence Kasdan, Don Goldsmith, Michael Landon and Louis L’Amour. The 2013 awards will be presented in Las Vegas in June. Visit for more information.

Sign up for e-mail news updates.