Juvenile court nominees selected

Thursday , March 06, 2014 - 12:58 PM


SALT LAKE CITY — The 2nd District Judicial Nominating Commission has selected nominees for a vacancy on the juvenile court. The vacancy results from the retirement of Judge Paul F. Iwasaki, effective Sept. 16, 2013.

The 2nd Judicial District includes Davis, Morgan and Weber counties.

The nominees for the vacancy are: Debra J. Jensen, attorney, Office of Guardian ad Litem; Ryan T. Perkins, deputy county attorney, Davis County Attorney’s Office; Sharon S. Sipes, attorney at saw; Laura K. Thompson, assistant attorney general, Utah Attorney General’s Office; and Janette R. White, assistant attorney general, Utah Attorney General’s Office.

Written comments can be submitted to 2nd District Judicial Nominating Commission Chair Brian Namba at Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 142330, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2330.

The deadline for written comments is 5 p.m. Sept. 4.

The Nominating Commission may request further information or conduct an investigation of the nominees after reviewing public comments. After the public comment period, the names will be sent to Gov. Gary R. Herbert, who will have 30 days to make an appointment. Herbert’s appointee is subject to confirmation by the Utah Senate.

Sign up for e-mail news updates.

Recommended for You

Activate Your Membership
Sign Up for the Standard Examiner Newsletter