UAC honors Weber County commissioner Kerry Gibson

Thursday , March 06, 2014 - 9:04 AM

Cathy McKitrick, Standard-Examiner Staff

OGDEN — One of Weber County’s own took top honors at the annual Utah Association of Counties (UAC) convention last month.

A selection committee made of county officials across the state selected Weber County Commissioner Kerry Gibson as the 2013 Overall County Official of the Year.

“I would not want this in any way to overshadow the day-to-day efforts of all our elected county officials,” Gibson said as he accepted the award at the convention’s closing banquet.

“We all work hard for our constituents to make Utah a better place,” Gibson added.

Gibson, a Republican, also served in Utah’s House of Representatives from 2005 to 2010.

Gibson is the first Weber County official to receive the award since its 1998 inception. In a recent statement, Gibson said the award “increases our presence among counties throughout the state.”

Sound leadership, strong financial oversight and conservative taxation rank high among his priorities, Gibson said, praising colleagues for “the thorough job that Weber County officials are performing for their citizens.”

Gibson was selected from a field of nine candidates that included Cache County Attorney James Swink, Grand County Clerk Diana Carroll, Kane County Assessor Linda Little, Summit County Sheriff Dave Edmunds, Tooele County Recorder Jerry Houghton, Uintah County Surveyor John Slaugh, Weber County Clerk/Auditor Ricky Hatch and Weber County Treasurer John Bond.

At this year’s convention, county officials recognized Weber County’s Hatch as Auditor of the Year and Bond as Treasurer of the Year.

For Bond, this was his second year in a row to receive the honor.

Doug Perry, UAC communications director, said that each affiliate group convened this summer and selected their particular 2013 officials of the year based on their participation and accomplishments. In November, a committee scrutinized those nine honorees to determine the overall official of the year, based on a formula and peer vote from all conference attendees.

“They’re very humble people who tend not to seek recognition of this kind,” Perry said.

“But they all love to get it from their peers,” Perry added. “It motivates them to become the best officials they can be.”

Contact reporter Cathy McKitrick at 801-625-4214 or Follow her on Twitter at @catmck.

Sign up for e-mail news updates.