Reid Newey

Reid Newey speaks to the crowd at the Weber School Board meeting on Wednesday, May 6, 2015. Newey was appointed assistant superintendent during the meeting.

WASHINGTON TERRACE — Retirements at the top are setting off a chain reaction in local schools.

“We have seven administrators retiring this year,” said Jeff Stephens, superintendent of Weber School District. “That group of seven administrators has 231 years of experience in Weber schools — 141 of those in administration — so this year we’re losing 141 years of experience.”

The retirements, and appointments to replace those who are leaving, were announced at the Weber school board meeting Wednesday.

At the district level, retiring Assistant Superintendent Lex Puffer will be replaced by Reid Newey. Newey, who has been serving as executive director of secondary education, will be replaced by Art Hansen. Hansen, the current director of student services, will be replaced by Lori Rasmussen. Rasmussen, who has been working as the district’s elementary supervisor, will be replaced by Karla Porter, who is currently the principal of Plain City Elementary. Drew Wilson, executive director of facilities and operations, is retiring and will be replaced by Dale Pfister. Pfister, Career and Technical Education director, will be replaced by Ray Long, the principal of Bonneville High School.

In addition to a couple of principals moving into district positions, others are retiring: Don Tanner, principal at South Ogden Junior High School; Mike Skeen, principal at Pioneer Elementary School; Dave Rhees, principal at North Ogden Elementary School; Tommy Lee, principal at Riverdale Elementary School; and James Shaw, assistant principal at Fremont High School.

To fill openings left by secondary school administrators, the following assignments were announced for the next school year: Larry Hadley, principal at Bonneville High School; Michele Parry, principal at South Ogden Junior High School; Wendy Long, principal at North Ogden Junior High School; Lenn Ward, principal at T.H. Bell Junior High School; Curtis Vandenbosch, principal at Snowcrest Junior High School; Scott Elliott, principal at Sandridge Junior High School; Brett Craynor, assistant principal at Fremont High School; Sherry Patton, assistant principal at Fremont High School; Jay Anderson, assistant principal at Bonneville High School; Alicia Mitchell, assistant principal at T.H. Bell Junior High School; and Quinn Talbot, assistant principal at Wahlquist Junior High School. The new secondary interns are Jaime Ellis at Roy High School, Bryce Ballif at Weber High School, and Don Morse at Fremont High School.

Board members also approved assignments for elementary schools: Melanie Stokes, principal at Riverdale Elementary; Justin Willie, principal at Marlon Hills Elementary; Quinn Karlinsey, principal at Plain City Elementary; Joanne Hobbs, principal at Uintah Elementary; Brian Anderson, principal at Pioneer Elementary; Riko Reese, principal at North Park Elementary; Heather Neilson, principal at West Haven Elementary; Phil Nestoryak, principal at North Ogden Elementary. Teachers Ann Holdaway, Mike Fazzio, Jon England, and Deana Davis will be the new elementary administration interns.

Contact reporter Becky Wright at 801-625-4274 or Follow her on Twitter at @ReporterBWright.

See what people are talking about at The Community Table!