Weber county city elections

Numerous city council and mayoral posts in cities across Weber County will be on the ballot in 2019 elections. In this Oct. 31, 2018, photo, voters cast ballots early at the Weber County Election Office in Ogden.

HOOPER — Hooper will be getting a new mayor and at least one new city council member in upcoming elections while the West Haven City Council will have at least one new face.

According to candidate filings for Hooper elections this year, three hopefuls have filed to run for mayor — Dale Fowers, Lori Brinkerhoff and Tyce Jensen. Absent from the list is incumbent Korry Green, meaning new leadership is to come.

Hooper will also be getting at least one new council member in upcoming elections. The at-large posts now held by Ryan Hill and Kyle Cooke come up for grabs, but Cooke isn’t seeking re-election. The five hopefuls for the two council posts are Hill, Cindy Cox, Travis Argyle, Chris Morris and Matthew Deyo.

According to the list of candidates for elections in West Haven, incumbent councilwomen Lacy Richards and Stephanie Carlson have filed for re-election. Dawnell Musselman, the third council member whose post is up for re-election this cycle, has not, paving the way for at least one newcomer.

Eight in all have filed for the three at-large council posts up for grabs in West Haven. Aside from Carlson and Richards, they are Nina Morse, Carrie Call, Rob Higginson, Kim Dixon, David Smith and Russell Erickson.

The primary is set for Aug. 13, when voting will serve to winnow the list of candidates in each of the many races across Weber County, if needed. The general election is set for Nov. 5.

The candidate filing period for city posts up for election later this year ended Friday. The Standard-Examiner already published the list of candidates for Weber County’s largest cities: Ogden, North Ogden, Roy and South Ogden.

Here’s the rundown in the county’s other cities:

Pleasant View: Seven candidates have filed for the three four-year council posts up for election in Pleasant View. They are incumbents Boyd Hansen, Sara Urry and Ken Francis as well as Ann Arrington, David Marriott, Toby Mileski and David Wade.

Four candidates are running to fill the final two years of the council term originally won by David Chugg, who moved after winning election and stepped down. They are Celso Chaparro, Kevin Bailey, Gary Lindley and Nicola Taylor.

Jerry Burns, whose council post comes open, isn’t seeking re-election.

Washington Terrace: Three council posts are up for election in Washington Terrace this cycle and six hopefuls are running. They are incumbents Scott Barker, Scott Monsen and Blair Brown as well as F. Carey Seal, Marcy Poehls and Brett DeGroot.

Riverdale: Three at-large posts are up for grabs this cycle. The four hopefuls are incumbents Braden Mitchell and Alan Arnold, as well as Steve Hilton and Jessica Fiveash, according to the city. Incumbent Cody Hansen isn’t seeking re-election.

Farr West: Three at-large posts are up for election. The four hopefuls include incumbents David Jay, Ken Phippen and Joshua Blazzard along with David Chugg, according to the city website.

Plain City: Three city council seats are up for election but just two candidates have filed, Melvin Sadler, one of the incumbents, and Todd Skeen, according to the city website. Incumbents Brad Searle and Todd Davis, whose seats are also up for re-election, aren’t running.

The city website notes write-in hopefuls can still file to run. If no other hopefuls come forward, the city council would make a two-year appointment to fill the third seat.

Harrisville: Four at-large council seats are up for election, three four-year terms and the last two years of another post.

The eight hopefuls for the three four-year seats include one incumbent, Grover Wilhelmsen, and Blair Christensen, Brenda Nelson, Kevin Shakespeare, Austin Moffitt, Richard Hendrix, Heidi Wahlen and Russ Wahlen. Incumbents Gary Robinson and Ruth Pearce aren’t running again.

The two hopefuls for the two-year seat are Stephen Weiss, the incumbent, and Jenny Kite.

Marriott-Slaterville: Three seats are up for grabs on the Marriott-Slaterville City Council.

The respective incumbents in the East District and West District seats, Dennis Illum and Rob Smout, are the only hopefuls in their races. Two are running for the at-large seat, incumbent Dee Christofferson and Stacy Palen, according to the city website.

Uintah: The last two years of the current mayoral term is up for grabs and Gordon Cutler, the incumbent, is the sole candidate, according to the city website.

Four candidates are running for two four-year terms on the city council — incumbent Jerry Smith along with Dave Boothe, Debra Wickizer and Cory Bruestle. The last two years of a term on another council post is up for election and the candidates are Michelle Roberts, an incumbent council member, and Scott Kendell. Greg Johnson, the incumbent in the two-year seat, isn’t running.

Huntsville: Four candidates are running for two seats up for election on the Huntsville Town Council, including Bill Wangsgard, an incumbent, and Blake Bingham, Richard Sorensen and Jason Kyle.

Contact reporter Tim Vandenack at, follow him on Twitter at @timvandenack or like him on Facebook at

See what people are talking about at The Community Table!