homepage logo

Sen. Gregg Buxton of Roy won’t seek reelection in 2024

By Tim Vandenack - | Nov 27, 2023

Photo supplied, Utah Senate

Utah Sen. Gregg Buxton, a Republican from Roy, won't seek reelection in 2024 elections.

ROY — Utah Sen. Gregg Buxton, a Republican from Roy, won’t seek reelection in 2024, paving the way for a new representative in the Senate for western Weber County.

“It has been an honor and a privilege to serve the people of Senate District 4, and I am grateful for the trust and support you have given me throughout the years,” the District 4 senator said last week in a message to constituents posted on his Facebook page.

Buxton, first elected to the 29-seat Senate in 2016, is finishing his second term and will serve through 2024. “From legislative victories to community initiatives, we have worked to better the lives of all Utahns,” he said.

Buxton, now retired, according to his conflict-of-interest filing with the state of Utah from earlier this year, previously served as director of administrative services for the City of Ogden. He indicated in his letter that he plans to spend more time with family after stepping down from the Senate.

“I would not be here today without my family’s support and understanding of the demands of public service, and I am eager to spend more quality time with them in the years ahead,” said Buxton, who didn’t immediately respond to a Standard-Examiner query seeking additional comment.

District 4 is expansive, covering the portion of Weber County west, by and large, of the Interstate 15 corridor, extending into Roy, West Haven, Farr West, Hooper and Plain City. It also extends into a portion of northern Davis County, including Clinton.

The District 3 seat, which also covers part of Weber County, will also be on the ballot in 2024. Sen. John Johnson, a Republican from North Ogden and the one-term incumbent, plans to run again and Stacy Bernal, a Democrat from Ogden, plans to challenge him.

Sen. Ann Millner represents District 5, the third Senate district extending into Weber County. That seat is not up for grabs again until 2026.


Join thousands already receiving our daily newsletter.

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)