homepage logo

BYU, Utah, Utah State represented on Mountain West’s 25th anniversary football team

By BRETT HEIN - Standard-Examiner | Nov 30, 2023

Douglas C. Pizac, Associated Press

LEFT: BYU's Luke Staley runs the football on Oct. 5, 2001, in Provo. RIGHT: Utah's Alex Smith throws in a game Sept. 25, 2004, in Salt Lake City.

All three Utah universities to have spent time in the Mountain West Conference had players named to the league’s 25th-anniversary football team, the league announced Thursday.

The University of Utah had four players selected, and BYU and Utah State each had three. One local made the list: Clearfield High alum and former USU player Zach Vigil.

BYU and Utah were charter members of the Mountain West, created in 1999, before leaving the league for the 2011-12 school year. Utah State joined the conference in 2013.

Utah’s selections include former No. 1 NFL draft pick and quarterback Alex Smith, offensive tackle Jordan Gross, safety Eric Weddle and kicker/punter Louie Sakoda.

BYU players who got the nod are former Doak Walker Award winner and running back Luke Staley, tight end Dennis Pitta, and defensive end Brady Poppinga.

Joining Vigil, a linebacker, from Utah State are quarterback Jordan Love and kick returner Savon Scarver.

Overall, 60 players were selected from 14 current and former member schools (25 offense, 25 defense, 10 special teams).


Join thousands already receiving our daily newsletter.

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)