Voters 07

Voters head to the polls on Election Day, Tuesday, Nov. 6, 2018, at the Weber County Library in Ogden.

OGDEN — The race for mayor of Ogden has turned into a four-candidate contest.

And it appears that Ogden Councilman Luis Lopez will be the only incumbent council member in the city to face a challenge. Anna Davison, who runs a restaurant on Historic 25th Street, has filed to run against him for the at-large “C” seat he holds.

The two other incumbent councilmen up for election this year, Ben Nadolski in District 4 and Richard Hyer in District 2, don’t have any challengers, according to the listing of candidates as of late Friday afternoon on the city of Ogden’s election website.

The final list of Ogden mayoral hopefuls, meanwhile, now includes John Thompson, a perennial candidate for office in Weber County. The others are Mike Caldwell, the incumbent, as well as Angel Castillo and Daniel Tabish, who had previously announced their plans.

The filing period for nonpartisan city elections across Weber County and Utah started on Monday and ended Friday. Names of some of the candidates were just getting out for the first time on Friday, and here’s a look at some of the other candidates for office in Weber County’s largest cities:

North Ogden mayor: Two hopefuls have filed to run for mayor of North Ogden, Neal Berube, chief executive officer with Associated Foods, and Lynn Satterthwaite, a former North Ogden City Council member.

Brent Chugg was appointed in January to the mayoral spot to replace Brent Taylor, the North Ogden mayor killed last year while serving in Afghanistan, and the winner of the mayoral race will fill out the last two years of Taylor’s term. Chugg had said he wouldn’t file to run in the election and he didn’t.

North Ogden City Council: Eleven people have filed for three four-year council posts on the ballot, including incumbents Ryan Barker and Phillip Swanson. The others are Ronald Flamm, Michael Anaya, Julie Anderson, Brian Bartholomew, Terry Bexel, Kevin Burns, Meg Sanders, Charlotte Ekstrom and Randy Winn, according to a list posted by the city of North Ogden.

Three hopefuls have filed for the remaining two years on a fourth council spot, including incumbent Councilwoman Cheryl Stoker as well as Stefanie Casey and Wade Bigler.

Incumbent Councilman Carl Turner is up for re-election this year but didn’t file to run.

All North Ogden City Council spots are at-large seats.

Roy City Council: Ten candidates have filed for three council spots up for grabs in Roy, including incumbents Joe Paul and Dave Tafoya.

The others are Trina Favero, Chris Collins, Chad Andrews, Brad Sawyer, Braedan Stander, Trent Wilkins, Diane Wilson and Ann Jackson, according to the city of Roy election website.

Councilwoman Karlene Yeoman is also up for re-election, but she didn’t file to run.

South Ogden City Council: Three at-large city council spots are on the ballot in South Ogden and nine people have filed to run for them, including the incumbents, Brent Strate, Sallee Orr and Adam Hensley.

The others are Jeremy Howe, Jorge Barragan, Jeannette Smyth, George Garwood Jr., Juan Arce and Timothy Isom, according to the city of South Ogden election website.

Mayoral spots are also up for grabs this cycle in Hooper and Uintah, while council posts in Weber County’s other towns and cities will also be on the ballot.

The primary in the nonpartisan municipal races, which will serve to narrow the list of candidates, is set for Aug. 13 and the general election is on Nov. 5.

Contact reporter Tim Vandenack at, follow him on Twitter at @timvandenack or like him on Facebook at

See what people are talking about at The Community Table!